Staff Directory

Adminstration / Support Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Steve Hebert
Dean of Kinesiology, Dance, and Athletics / Athletic Director
(562) 908-3457 shebert@riohondo.edu
Pat Slavich
Administrative Assistant
(562) 908-3409 pslavich@riohondo.edu
Steve Johnson
Athletic Coordinator
(562) 463-7403 sjohnson@riohondo.edu
Bianca Urquidi
Athletic Coordinator
(562) 463-7439 burquidi@riohondo.edu
Dennyse Clark
Athletic Counselor
(562) 463-7434 dclark@riohondo.edu
Russell Muir
Certified Athletic Trainer
(562) 463-7407 rmuir@riohondo.edu
Caprice Gonzalez
Sr. Equipment Attendant
(562) 908-3443 cgonzales@riohondo.edu
Pauly Lona
Equipment Attendant
(562) 908-7417 lonap@riohondo.edu
Chris Ruiz
Sports Information/Webmaster
rhcathletics@gmail.com

Baseball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Salazar
Head Coach
(562) 463-7429 msalazar@riohondo.edu

Men's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Steve Johnson
Head Coach
(562) 463-7403 sjohnson@riohondo.edu
Kevin Akiyama
Assistant Coach

Women's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Rene Herrera
Head Coach
(562) 463-7414 rherrera@riohondo.edu
Christine Alcala
Assistant Coach
Klarissa Ayala
Assistant Coach
Justin Marshall
Assistant Coach
Justin Marshall
Assistant Coach
David Ramos
Assistant Coach

Women's Beach Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Teddi Esko
Head Coach
(562) 463-7411 tesko@riohondo.edu

Men's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Orlando Brenes
Head Coach
(562) 463-7402 obrenes@riohondo.edu
Gary Hurtarte
Assistant Coach
(562) 463-7402
Carlos Lopez
Assistant Coach
(562) 463-7402
Javier Aguiniga Campos
Assistant Coach
(562) 463-7402 jcampos@riohondo.edu
Damian Galvan
Assistant Coach
(562) 463-7402
Francisco Javier Torres
Assistant Coach

Women's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jennifer Tanaka-Hoshijo
Head Coach
(562) 463-7435 jtanaka@riohondo.edu
Will Lopez
Assistant Coach
Armando Gutierrez
Assistant Coach
Yahaira Hernandez
Assistant Coach
AD Ramirez
Assistant Coach
Angelica Holguin
Team Manager

Softball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Bianca Urquidi
Head Coach
(562) 463-7439 burquidi@riohondo.edu
Ernest Monroy
Assistant Coach
(562) 463-7439 coachernest626@yahoo.com

Men's Swimming & Diving

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Stephen Smith
Head Coach
(562) 463-7422 swsmith@riohondo.edu

Women's Swimming & Diving

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Todd Lim
Head Coach
(562) 463-3206 tlim@riohondo.edu

Women's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Karen Unger
Head Coach
kunger@riohondo.edu

Women's Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Teddi Esko
Head Coach
(562) 463-7411 tesko@riohondo.edu
Amanda Cano
Assistant Coach
(562) 463-7411
Anthon Salang
Assistant Coach
(562) 463-7411
Sydney Wikkeling-Marotta
Assistant Coach
(562) 463-7411
Amanda Gomez (562) 463-7411
Andrea Velasco
Assistant Coach
(562) 463-7411
Gabrielle Cruz (562) 463-7411

Men's Water Polo

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Stephen Smith
Head Coach
(562) 463-7422 swsmith@riohondo.edu

Women's Water Polo

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Todd Lim
Head Coach
(562) 463-3206 tlim@riohondo.edu
Emily Mesa
Assistant Coach
Emilie Eastman
Assistant Coach
Sarah Aguayo
Assistant Coach
Uriel Villa
Assistant Coach

Wrestling

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Tellez
Head Coach
(562) 463-7436 mtellez@riohondo.edu